COVID-19 - Situation in Germany and Hong Kong

Menschen mit Atemmaske

Menschen mit Atemmaske, © dpa/ZUMA Wire

11.10.2021 - Article

Important updates regarding COVID-19 in Germany and Hong Kong

Lifting of entry restrictions from Hong Kong and Macao to Germany

Since 20 Jun, 2021 the German government has lifted all entry restrictions for Hong Kong and Macao residents. Travel to Germany by Hong Kong and Macao residents will therefore be permitted again for all travel purposes from this date. For entry by air, proof of testing, proof of convalescence or proof of vaccination is required.

Requirements for tests and proof of vaccination or recovery

Information on proof of immunity is available on the website of the Federal Ministry of Health

In principle, the following forms of proof are accepted:

  • Proof of a negative test result:

A negative test result obtained using nucleic acid amplification technology (e.g. PCR, PoC- PCR) in German, English, French, Italian or Spanish. The test must have been carried out no more than 72 hours prior to entry (time of swabbing).

Alternatively, a negative antigen rapid test result in German, English, French, Italian or Spanish. Following a stay in a risk area or high incidence area, the test must have been carried out no more than 48 hours prior to entry. Following a stay in an area of variant of concern, the test must have been carried out no more than 24 hours prior to entry.

Details on the recognition of tests are provided on the website of the Robert Koch Institute.

  • Proof of vaccination:

Proof of vaccination against COVID-19 in German, English, French, Italian or Spanish in digital or paper form (e.g. WHO vaccination booklet). The vaccine used must be one of those listed on the website of the Paul-Ehrlich-Institute . A period of at least 14 days must have elapsed since receiving the last vaccine dose.

  • Proof of recovery:

A positive PCR test result carried out at least 28 days but no more than six months previously.

What constitutes proof of vaccination?


Travel to Hong Kong

The following regulations will be applied when entering Hong Kong from 20 August ,2021.

All countries worldwide have been divided into three categories: “high risk”, “medium risk” and “low risk”. Germany falls into the “medium risk” group.

For travellers from Germany, the following hotel quarantine rules apply:

- Unvaccinated persons with resident status: 21 days quarantine in hotel.

- Fully vaccinated persons: 14 days quarantine in hotel plus seven days “self-monitoring” at home

Travellers from Germany must present the following documents upon entry into Hong Kong:

1. Proof of a negative PCR test*

The test must have been performed within 72 hours prior to departure (for connecting flights, this refers to the last flight) and must be in the traveller's name as entered in the passport and in English or Chinese.

2. Proof of ISO 15189 certification of the laboratory


Internet printout from the homepage of the “Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle” with the name and address of the test laboratory that performed the test. All ISO 15189-certified laboratories (accredited bodies) in Germany can be found on the homepage of the “Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle


a printout of the confirmation (in English) from the German Consulate General in Hong Kong that all test laboratories on the list of the “ Deutsche Akkreditierungsstelle ” are ISO 15189 certified or recognized by the German authorities.


CENTOGENE offers PCR tests at most German airports. As proof of ISO 15189 accreditation you can use a print out of the following documents. CENTOGENE certification Certificate OF ISO 15189 Accreditation


3. Hotel Reservation

A hotel reservation in a Hong Kong government designated hotel in English or Chinese for the required period from the day of arrival in Hong Kong. Hotel expenses are the responsibility of the traveller. 

Unvaccinated children arriving accompanied by fully vaccinated adults may spend a shortened quarantine period with the adults at the hotel and the remaining quarantine period at home.

4. Vaccination Certificate

The vaccination certificate issued by the relevant health authority in the name registered in the passport in English or Chinese. In addition, the vaccination certificate must indicate whether the individual traveller has received one or more doses of COVID-19 vaccine and the date on which the last dose was administered. Vaccination must have been with a vaccine approved by the Hong Kong government. A list with recognized vaccination records can be found on the government’s website . The EU Digital COVID Certificate is considered a recognized record. Please always present the certificates of both vaccinations - if applicable.

5. Online Entry Registration

All inbound travelers are required to complete the Health & Quarantine Information Declaration form from the health authorities online. The form can be completed and submitted online using a smartphone or mobile device prior to boarding. After successful submission, you will receive a QR code that you can save and present upon entry. The QR code is valid for 48 hours.

6. After Arrival at the Airport

All entrants must undergo a COVID test at the airport and wait for the result. After confirmation of the negative test result, buses will be ready to take you to the booked quarantine hotel.

* If the COVID test is not in English or Chinese or does not contain all the above information, a written confirmation in English or Chinese should be issued by the laboratory or health facility. This written confirmation should contain the name of the traveler concerned (name spelling as in the valid travel document) and the all the above information. Said written confirmation should be submitted together with the test report. Form for the written confirmation


Please read the recent entry regulations of the Hong Kong government: https://www.coronavirus.gov.hk/eng/inbound-travel.html

Further useful information you may find here:

Top of page